Fire Station No. 25
- 1400 Harvard Ave, Seattle, WA 98101, United States
- Date Built:
- Original Architect /
- Somervell & Cote
- Original Owners:
- City of Seattle
- First brick fire house in Seattle. Characteristic arched windows and doorways. Although this was the first fire station in Seattle to be assigned motor driven fire engines, it was originally designed for horse-drawn engines.
Historic Seattle’s Role:
After being declared surplus by the City of Seattle, the Fire Station was transferred to Historic Seattle in 1977, which in turn sold it to Commonwealth Pacific (in 1979) with a protective easement. The fire station was decommissioned as a fire house in 1970. At the time of the 1979 sale, the structure was in poor condition. The roof leaked and an interior load bearing wall had been removed. After complete renovation of the exterior and adaptive remodeling of the interior into 16 townhouse apartments, the building reopened in December 1980.
Current and Future Uses:
Fire Station No. 25 continues to stand as another example of the successful union of historic rehabilitation and adaptive reuse. It was designated a Seattle Landmark in 1976 (Ord. #106054) and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.